Skip to Content
California State University, Long BeachCalifornia State University, Long Beach

Holiday Schedule

Get Acrobat Reader

Campus Holidays For Fiscal Year 2018- 2019

  • Independence Day Wednesday, July 4, 2018 Campus Closed
  • Labor Day Monday, September 3, 2018 Campus Closed
  • Veterans Day Observed Monday, November 12, 2018 Campus Closed
  • Thanksgiving Day Thursday, November 22, 2018 Campus Closed
  • Admission Day Observed Friday, November 23, 2018 Campus Closed
  • Christmas Day Tuesday, December 25, 2018 Campus Closed
  • Columbus Day Observed Wednesday, December 26, 2018 Campus Closed
  • Lincoln's Birthday (2019) Observed Thursday, December 27, 2018 Campus Closed
  • President's Day (2019) Observed Friday, December 28, 2018 Campus Closed
  • May Use Vacation, CTO, ADO or Personal Holiday Monday, December 31, 2018 Campus Closed
  • New Year's Day Tuesday, January 1, 2019 Campus Closed
  • Martin Luther King, Jr. Day Monday, January 21, 2019 Campus Closed
  • Cesar Chavez Day Monday, April 1, 2019 Campus Closed
  • Memorial Day Monday, May 27, 2019 Campus Closed

Holiday Campus Closure

As shown below the campus will be closed this year and next year from December 25, 2018 through January 1, 2019. During this period, there are five holidays and one day that would otherwise be a workday. Employees may take and charge Monday, December 31, 2018 as indicated below or they may elect to be “docked” this day, if they wish to use their time on the books at a later date.

  • Tuesday 12/25/18 — Christmas Day
  • Wednesday 12/26/18 — Columbus Day Observed
  • Thursday 12/27/18 — Lincoln's Birthday (2019) Observed
  • Friday 12/28/18 — President's Day (2019) Observed
  • Monday 12/31/18 — May use Vacation, CTO, Additional Day Off (ADO) or Personal Holiday
  • Tuesday 01/01/19 — New Year's Day

NOTE: Such "dock" time must be reported to Payroll Services no later than December 14, 2018 to insure an accurate December pay warrant.

If an employee does not have sufficient Vacation, CTO, or Personal Holiday time to cover the scheduled day of closure, they shall be provided sufficient work to prevent any loss of pay or benefits in accordance with the appropriate collective bargaining contracts or Trustee’s policy. If such work exceeds 40 hours per week for non-exempt employees (under the Fair Labor Standards Act), they are entitled to time and one-half compensation per the contracts.

Sick leave cannot be granted during the campus closure unless the employee is officially scheduled to work during the closure.

Employees who need to work should contact their supervisor by the first part of December to allow review time by the Dean or Director. The only offices that will remain open are those that are required to provide essential services. Such requests must be looked at on an individual basis.

If you have any questions, please direct them to your department administrative assistant who will receive detailed instructions from the Division of Administration and Finance regarding the 2018 Holiday Closure.

Academic Calendar

  • Fall Semester August 20, 2018 - December 24, 2018 85 Days
  • Winter Session January 02, 2019 - January 18, 2019 13 Days
  • Spring Semester January 22, 2019 - May 24, 2019 85 Days
  • Spring Recess April 1, 2019 - April 7, 2019 5 Days
  • Summer Sessions May 28, 2019 - August 16, 2019 3 Sessions