Skip to Content
California State University, Long BeachCalifornia State University, Long Beach

University Insurance Program

Use of University and Privately Owned Vehicles on University Business

Authorization

Before an employee may use their own personal vehicle on university business he/she must complete and sign an Authorization to use Privately Owned Vehicles on University or State business, Standard Form 261. Using Standard Form 261, the employee certifies in writing that their personal vehicle will always be:

  • Covered by liability insurance in at least the following amounts:
    • $15,000 for personal injury to, or death of, one person,
    • $30,000 for personal injury to two or more persons in one accident, and
    • $5,000 for property damage;
  • Adequate for the work to be performed;
  • Equipment with safety belts in operating condition; and
  • In safe mechanical condition as required by law.

The completed authorization form shall be retained by the supervisor who approved the use of the privately owned vehicle.

Authorization forms will be valid for a period not to exceed one year. Once completed, Standard Form 261 may be initialed and dated annually by the employee to certify that it is current.

The employee's supervisor shall verify that there is a fully executed current authorization form on file before signing a Travel Expense Claim, Standard Form 261 for the claimant. The employee's signature on the Travel Expense Claim certifies that the minimum insurance and safety requirements were in effect and had been properly recorded before the privately owned vehicle was used.

Motorcycles

Motorcycles shall not be used in carrying out university business.

Criteria for Use

  • The individual has satisfactorily completed a CSU approved Defensive Driver Training Course once every four (4) years and maintains a good driving record. Defensive Driver Training is required for those who regularly drive on University business (which is defined as being equal to or greater than once a month or equal to or greater than 12 times annually). Defensive Driver Training is conducted by the University Police Department. Information concerning the schedule of Defensive Driver Training can be obtained by contacting University Police at extension 5-4101. An individual who drives less than once a month or less than 12 times annually need not complete the above course.
  • The individual authorized to drive is a University employee in active, state-funded pay status or a person on recognized volunteer status.
  • The University has requested a copy of the individual’s driving record annually from the Department of Motor Vehicles and verifies the employee maintains eligibility as a licensed driver.
  • The individual has a valid California or other state driver’s license in his/her possession and the license is the correct class for the type of vehicle he/she is driving.

Vehicle Accidents

On Campus

  1. Call University Police: 911
  2. File a Police Report

Off Campus

  • Notify Risk Management

Employees

University employees involved in an accident while driving a privately owned vehicle on university business shall:

  • Report the accident immediately to their manager. If the accident resulted in bodily injury to any person other than a university employee or significant property damage to the property of others, report the accident to Risk Management at (562) 985-2396. If the accident resulted in bodily injury to a university employee, report the accident to the Workers’ Compensation Manager at (562) 985-2366.
  • In addition to phone notifications required above, a Report of Vehicle Accident, Standard Form 270 must be completed and forwarded to Risk Management within 24 hours. The report should be clearly marked “Privately Owned Vehicle Involved.”

Managers and Supervisors

University managers and supervisors of employees involved in an accident while driving a privately owned vehicle on university business shall:

  • Ensure that the employee completes Standard Form 270 or will do it for him/her if the employee is unable to do so.
  • Investigate each accident promptly and thoroughly.
  • Prepare a Supervisor's Review of State Driver Accident, Standard Form 274; and
  • Forward the completed forms to Risk Management with 24 hours.

Motor Vehicle Liability

An employee's personal automobile insurance policy is the primary coverage for liability and damages in the event of an accident while on university business. The State of California does not provide for loss or damage to privately owned vehicles. Liability insurance maintained by the State of California is only applicable to the liability of the employee that is over and above the liability insurance maintained by the employee.

The university department which authorized the employee to use his/her private vehicle on university business is responsible for payment to an employee for vehicle repair or other incidental costs resulting from damage to his/her privately-owned vehicle if these costs are not otherwise reimbursable through insurance coverage of any of the parties involved in the accident. Costs may be claimed only if the vehicle accident/damage was not the fault of the employee.

Procedures for Filing a Claim

To obtain payment for vehicle repair or other incidental cost resulting from damage to his/her privately-owned vehicle, an employee must:

  1. File a Report of Vehicle Accident, using Standard Form 270.
  2. Attempt to recover damages through his/her insurance coverage.
  3. Prepare a Travel Expense Claim (TEC) and attach the following documents:
    • The green copy of Standard Form 270 , signed by the employee's supervisor.
    • An itemized receipt for repairs/parts.
    • Proof of payment of repair/incidental costs.
    • Three (3) estimates of repair costs.
  4. Enter the following certification in the Remarks Section of the TEC:
    "I hereby certify that this expense was incurred by me as a result of damage to my privately-owned vehicle. This expense is not reimbursable through the insurance coverage of any of the parties involved in the accident."

The approving official shall:

  1. Review the completed Standard Form 270 and TEC for accuracy and completeness.
  2. Sign Standard Form 270 to certify that the vehicle was being used on official university business and that the accident was not though the fault of the employee.
  3. Determine that the claim is not the result of the employee's decision not to maintain collision coverage. Claims resulting from the employee's decision not to maintain collision coverage are not handled through the TEC process. Claims filed because of the employee's decision not to maintain collision coverage may be filed with the State Board of Control (http://vcgcb.ca.gov/claims/).
  4. Sign the TEC to certify that the employee has presented sufficient evidence that the repair has not been paid by any insurance coverage and to authorize payment for the least costly of the three (3) competitive estimates.