Skip to Content
California State University, Long BeachCalifornia State University, Long Beach

Credit Unions

Credit Unions are member owned financial institutions which provide savings, loan and related services to qualified members.


Verifiable employment at California State University, Long Beach or family relationship to a Credit Union member. Employees and students with verifiable enrollment at California State University, Long Beach are eligible for membership with various credit unions, including the LBS Financial Credit Union and SchoolsFirst Federal Credit Union.


Credit Union membership generally requires a one time membership fee and a minimum savings deposit.

You may contact the individual credit union for information regarding eligibility and services. You may also contact them directly at:

LBS Financial Credit Union
4341 E. 10th Street
Long Beach CA 90804
Phone: (562) 598-9007
SchoolsFirst Federal Credit Union
P.O. Box 11547
Santa Ana CA 92711-1547
Phone: (800) 462-8328


Payroll deduction may be canceled at anytime by contacting the Credit Union directly.

Benefits & Services

Credit Unions offer checking, savings, and ATM services; money market accounts, certificates of deposit, loans (automobile, line of credit, IRA's and real estate), select insurance options and VISA.

Purpose & Structure

Credit Unions have been serving University and State employees and their families for more than 40 years. The purpose of a Credit Union is to offer value to members through competitively-priced savings and loan products.

When you join a Credit Union, you become a member-owner of the Credit Union. Interest earned from loans to members or through Credit Union investments is given back to members in the form of higher savings rates, lower loan rates and improved Credit Union services.


Credit Unions are non-profit corporations organized under the laws of the State of California. All member accounts are federally insured up to $100,000 by the National Credit Union Administration (NCUA), an agency of the Federal Government.